Yahoo! Answers

Question

Is this a scammer wanting to rent my place?

I have an apt listed for rent on Craigslist. This guy wrote me and asked for some pictures. I sent him two and this is his reply. Thanks for the quick response. Its nice hearing from you again and i appreciate it. I'm okay with the information in the listing. I don't think i have any question now but if i do i'll send it to you. I would have loved to see the property before making any plan but the distance is the problem. I would like to go ahead in renting the property from you. I work at Global Tourist as a tour organizer and i really enjoy my work because am always on the move. We organize tourists all over the world and give them the best plessure for their money. Here is my Employer's website www.globaltourist.net . In case you need to do a credit check on me, here is my information. Passport #: 645362721, National Issurance #: xs236381d, Dob: 11/10/1979 Employer's name: Global Tourist, Monthly income: 2900 pounds. Incase you need to contact my Employer, here is the number (1144) 0800-652-1938. I will be coming with my wife and we are relocating from London, UK. My Employer is trying to open a branch in your area and thats the reason why i'm coming. My Employer will be responsible for the monthly rent and security deposit. I will sign the lease agreement in person and will be signing a year lease with you as soon as i get to the States. We will be moving to the States on July the 15th and i want the lease to start same date because We will be moving into the property directly. Kindly get the ad off from all listings because am taking the property for sure. In the meantime, I will like to secure the property asap so that i can attend to other important things for our move to the Country.In order to proceed with payment, I will need the following information so that we can continue from there. (1) FULL NAME AS IT WILL BE ON CHECK. (2) MAILING ADDRESS. (3) CELL NUMBER AND ALTERNATIVE NUMBER. Kindly get back to me with the above information and incase of any question, please contact me on my phone number (1144) 753-626-2503. Await your response asap. I don't have the time to check the phone number and his place of business right now. I just want to see if anyone has this happen to him or her. I heard there are scams on rentals. He will probably send me a check for more than I want in rent and ask me to send him back the rest. Thanks for your help

5 months ago - 5 answers

Best Answer

Chosen by Asker

I GOT THE SAME EMAIL!... also from my Craigslist posting... are you even in Maryland?...just curious.

by The Freedom Connection

5 months ago

Asker's Rating: 

Other Answers

It certainly sounds like a scam to me - when you have time check out his Ref? - that telephone number doesn't look right to me. If you want to continue playing this guy, ask him for more details his employer and name of his boss who is guarantying his rent. Meanwhile keep your ad on Craigslist and hope for a "local" response.

by dusty_titus- 5 months ago

It certainly sounds fishy to me. Proceed with caution. You have the right to decide not to rent to him. I went to that web site and saw NOTHING about locations. It looks to be an online business only.

by Miss_Suzy- 5 months ago

If you take any deposit tell them it is non refundable. There is a scam going around. Tenant sends you a check. you deposit it. Then they call you in a panic needing their money back due to an emergency. You send it back and then find out their check bounces. Your out the deposit..

by Ken M- 5 months ago

Yeah, this is the scam where they send an excessive check and ask you to send cash to various people. The check is a forgery, but as it is overseas it takes about 2 weeks to find that out.

by Landlord- 5 months ago